Cat Nap Over a Starry Night

I don’t tend to paint very big. Actually, when I first really started to get a little more serious with painting, I started off with tiny ACEOs, mostly because 1, to save on costs, and 2, if I was going to screw up something, it might as well be something small! Nowadays I still actually paint quite small. I still create ACEOs, I love painting tiny pendants, and it’s quite nice having a printer that can turn a small ACEO painting into a large print. (Ah, the joys of technology!)

 “Cat Nap Over a Starry Night” is no tiny ACEO, but I painted this one on an 8×10 canvas. It’s a fun challenge to fit in a lot of details into such a little space. And this painting was no exception! This guy was definitely a challenge. I thought that my little Balloon Cat needed a glorious place to perch next, and it does not get anymore glorious than Van Gogh’s Starry Night. I had never attempted anything close to this style before, and I wanted to capture the beauty of his piece but also put a little bit of my own flare into it. Also, creating those kinds of strokes with acrylic paint, rather than oil paint, was a challenge in itself. But it all worked out in the end. I wanted a little tribute to the original, not an actual reproduction.

Plus, you know, it’s not exactly a reproduction when you’ve got a little black cat with a red balloon having a cat nap on the moon. <3

This could possibly be my new favourite piece (:

4

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com http://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com https://www.thegamecrafter.com/games/the-animism-tarot

Posted on January 9, 2013, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 533 other followers

