The Octopus and the Eight of Swords

1

 

This might not be a card I would want to draw! At first glance, the Eight of Swords seems like a sad tarot. Our prisoner is alone and trapped, held down by forces that it can’t seem to control. This tarot was a little challenge to paint, but I think every arm and every tentacle was worth it. (Phew!) I like the strong reds because your eyes get drawn to it and it comes off as a warning at the same time. Watch yourself; you’re in dangerous waters and you might not be able to escape.

Thankfully this tarot is not as negative as it may seem. I chose the octopus for this tarot, and a resourceful, incredibly intelligent creature like this can definitely find a way to escape. There is a way out; you just need to find that exit.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com http://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com https://www.thegamecrafter.com/games/the-animism-tarot

Posted on April 18, 2013, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. LOVE THIS!!! <3 Such a great interpretation of this card. I cannot wait to have your entire beautiful deck in my hands. :)

  2. I really like the creative use of the octopus’ tentacles! A wonderful piece of art and a great tarot card (unless you happen to draw it in a tarot reading!! :-))

  3. It looks amazing. The shading in the swords, and the detail on the Octopus is perfect..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 534 other followers

