The Leatherback Sea Turtle: Dream with the Queen of Cups

I don’t dream much. Well, I guess that’s probably not true; I’m sure I’m probably dreaming all the time. But I usually wake up not remembering if I dreamed at all. So when I actually remembered a dream recently, I was excited to try a tarot reading to help give me a little insight about it.  The first card I happened to draw in this reading was the Queen of Cups. She feels like a very fitting tarot to draw when it comes to dreams, and it was good timing because the Queen of Cups was the next tarot that I wanted to write about.

1

There’s something rather majestic about this tarot and I wanted the grandest of all the turtles to represent this queen: the leatherback sea turtle. She’s the largest turtle in the world, yet I can still sense her exuding this gentle grace. I think this is one very intuitive queen. She glows with this quiet strength, and she’s very wise but she’s not one to brag.  Cups are quite the emotional cards and I love how fluid she seems to be. She’s not rigid and can go with the flow. This is definitely a queen I can feel a connection with.

Painting all of her little details wasn’t easy, but maybe all of her little bumps and  scales represent all of the stories she has to tell. I’d love to hear them all! The jellyfish also became my symbolic cup. Perhaps it’s a little warning that though this queen may seem gentle, she can also have quite the temper. I wouldn’t want to get on her bad side.

And as for my reading? Though I was not alone in my dream, I got the sense that it was more about me than anyone else. It’s still a bit of a mystery for me though. I hope to look back on my notes and see things a little more clearly as I continue to learn more about tarot myself.

3

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com http://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com https://www.thegamecrafter.com/games/the-animism-tarot

Posted on May 5, 2013, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Donald Lockwood

    I love this turtle! Great job :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 569 other followers

