The Page of Swords, the Duck, and Potential

There’s still a bit of tweaking to do with the writing for my tarot deck, but other than that, I’m just about at the point where I’m like.. okay.. now what? Now what should I do? It’s weird actually being finished with all of the artwork! It took me a few years to get to this point; so now it’s so strange to be (just about) done this project. What do I do with myself! Eek!

I pictured pages as a bundle of potential. We have a young page, eyes shining with excitement, getting ready to take on the world, whether they’re truly ready or not! I think choosing pages was easier than some of the other court cards.  The pages of this deck have a little bit of innocence. They aren’t the big, grand creatures like many of the kings or queens or knights. These pages became animals that are a little bit smaller, a little less threatening, and if I could make something cute, the pages would be it.

The Cayuga duck came to be the Page of Swords. I’d like to say that I had these grand reasons for choosing a specific breed of a species over other breeds, but most of the time I would choose a certain breed because there is just something about the look of it that just felt right. I wanted a duck that looked a little more unique, and this one has this great depth in the colouring that I was immediately drawn to. As a duck, he’s not as fierce as the wolf as the King of Swords, not as powerful as the osprey as the queen, and not quite as fast as the greyhound knight, but he is sharp, and quick, and ready to reach the greatness of the other swords.

Maybe I have the potential of the Page of Swords now. Now that the artwork for this deck is complete, I’m at a slight crossroads at the moment, trying to figure out what path to go on with my artwork. In terms of my Etsy shop, greeting cards seem to be getting the most attention; so it’s been an interesting shift from tarot paintings to more commercialized greeting cards, but it’s all about experimentation for me still. But where  should I go as far as the tarot world is concerned? I feel like there’s still so much more art that can be made!

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com http://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com https://www.thegamecrafter.com/games/the-animism-tarot

Posted on June 12, 2013, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 533 other followers

