Introducing The Animism Tarot — or — Holy Crap, I Made A Deck

Here’s a shot of some of the tarot cards from the very first copy of the Animism Tarot. It is beyond surreal to have this project be a reality. It was always a dream to get to this point, and all of the sweat and love and effort and craziness over the last few years have finally come to this moment. I can’t believe it!

I haven’t had the chance to really play with it yet. I still feel a little overwhelmed with what to do with it now. Is that weird or what! Aside from drawing a few cards here and there, I’ve been shuffling it a lot lately and I have to admit, I think I’m in love. This is technically the proof copy; when I first got it, I focused a lot on the very slight shifts in brightness/levels of the original images from file to print, but I think spending the past week with it has helped me get comfortable with the very subtle changes.  I am debating on making a few minor colour tweaks to a few files but I think on the whole, they are as close to what I originally envisioned. I need to relax a bit and not be too much of a perfectionist over things, I think. I’m still trying to take it all in!

So yes, yes, it will be available very soon. Like as soon as I can possibly get it out. I have a verrry little bit of writing to work on, but I think I need to spend just a little bit more time with the deck to make sure that I am really satisfied with it before it’s officially available. It’s almost here!

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com http://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com https://www.thegamecrafter.com/games/the-animism-tarot

Posted on June 23, 2013, in Artwork, Tarot and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. I can’t wait to see this as a real deck! I love all your cards and I want one SO bad!

  2. What an awesome project! So cool!

  3. I love the artistry and symbolism contained within this deck. Beautifully done, and the energy of the cards are balanced well. There aren’t many decks out there that I connect with immediately upon just looking at them, but these are one of those decks. Great job!

  4. I can’t wait! OMG OMG OMG!

  5. and congratulations! I know you worked so hard on this!

  6. Well done!!!! I know the groundwork that goes behind something like this, and the artwork is stunning! Thanks for the follw btw :)

  7. Hi Jo. I found you on Etsy WordPress Blogs Team. Wow look at your art. Now that I’ve seen some of your work I’m of to your Etsy store to see what else you’ve have going on.

  8. Wow, now THIS is incredibly exciting — Congratulations!!

    I have to tell ya, I tried my hand at making my own deck years ago and just gave up after 2 illustrations. All the vision, none of the stamina…

    And your artwork is stunning and so full of life. I can’t wait!!

    Many blessings! )O(

    • Wow thank you so much! The deck was recently made available so it’s been exciting. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve thought, “oh well this will NEVER get done” but this small (crazy?) part of my brain kept trudging ahead. It still feels really weird to be finished!

  9. Hi Joanne,

    I just received my Animism Tarot. Love it. The artwork is so beautiful and it is worth all that waiting I did, trying to find the perfect animal themed deck because I am finicky like that. On that point, the card stock could have been a bit sturdier, nonetheless the art work adds up beautifully and gives new insights into the standard tarot deck. I especially laud your choice of using sea-horses in the Lovers card. However, I just have one question. Is there a companion book? I would really love to know why you picked each animal for that specific card and what it embodies, the reasoning for the choice and also generally what was going on in your head when you created a particular card. All said and done, great stuff! Congratulations on a deck well done!

    P. S. Did your deck come with an LWB, because there wasn’t any in mine…

    • Hi there, I’m so sorry I missed this!

      The deck does not have a physical LWB but it has an online PDF. The direct link is here: https://www.thegamecrafter.com/games/the-animism-tarot/download/0E9EB91E-6059-11E3-996A-5E6F40E381E5

      It’s also available on the deck’s purchase page under “downloads”

      The PDF is a bit different and doesn’t discuss the ‘why’ of the animal choices – I’ve actually discussed the whys and hows of some of the cards on this blog. You can find them through the tarot tag here: http://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com/?s=tarot or searching for the cards directly in the search bar. It’s still an on-going write-up, and I’ll continue to write about the cards and the deck as I do my own readings. (Lots of ideas planned for this blog.)

      Thanks so much for your feedback. I do agree that the card stock could be a touch thicker.. unfortunately I don’t have control with that with the Game Crafter but I was happy with their print quality enough to overlook that. (Hoping they’ll have more options in the future, such as tuck box sizes.)

  10. Hi there
    I’ve been looking for tarot cards I actually like for SO long but they are all sleazy or cheesey. I’m also an amateur acrylic artist myself and I can’t stand the terrible drawings on many cards too and photoshop/digital images look a bit soulless. Then I saw your cards; they are beautiful, simple, effective, match together wonderfully, bright and cheery too. BUT the shipping rates to UK are HELL at https://www.thegamecrafter.com/checkout/pay

    Would you consider selling me a PDF of the cards themselves that I could print and laminate/put in sleeves here please?

    Maybe you could email me about this. annieanya@hotmail.co.uk.

    From Anya

    • Hi Anya, thank you so much for your interest in the deck. Sorry for my delayed reply! Unfortunately I’m not selling the deck as a PDF. I’m sorry that’s not really what you want to hear. I feel your pain with shipping. I know shipping overseas is expensive; I would have liked to be able to ship them myself, but because I’m in Canada, Canadian shipping is actually even more than what it costs the Game Crafter to ship. (I think the last time I checked, shipping one deck from Canada to the UK would have cost just as much as the deck itself.) I think TGC has made some slight adjustments though because I remember their shipping was WAY more expensive than it is now. (if you can believe that!)

      Sorry again! Shipping in general is just expensive, even for me :/
      Take care,
      Joanna

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 534 other followers

