Tiny Art For Tiny Joys

When I first wanted to get more serious about painting, I hadn’t touched a paintbrush in a really long time. It was actually a little intimidating, to say the least. So when I pulled out all of my pots of paint for the first time in forever, I decided that I would try painting on a small scale first; then maybe slowly work my way up to larger sizes and see how it went from there.

Under the Skin @ http://bit.ly/nam8Sn

 

Now when I said I wanted to start ‘small’, I’m talking, like, really small. Like you could sneeze and blow away your artwork kind of small. I would go to the art supply store and buy out their 2.5 x 1.5 canvases, (that’s inches, not feet) and use the smallest paintbrush I had to paint my tiny creations. Paintbrush in hand, and painting a mere couple of inches from my face, I would paint into the late hours of the night.

I learned something painting my tiny paintings. I loved to paint small! There was something about having this tiny piece of art that fit in my hands that brought a smile to my face.  The tiny paintings suited me: we were both small and could easily blow away from the wind. We worked together.

The Hanged Man @ http://etsy.me/pZMG2S

 

I slowly worked my way up to larger painting sizes. I painted a few 3×4 canvas panels – a very odd kind of size after painting such miniature sizes. I’ve since “upgraded” to 5×7 sized paintings, though still very small, but they makes me happy. The first time I tried painting one 5×7, I felt so weird having all of that space to play with!

I have “big” dreams of working my way up to larger sizes, 8x10s, 9x12s, 18×24 and beyond. For now though, I’m really happy with creating small pieces of artwork. For me, they’re manageable, and on the business side of selling on Etsy, it’s a lot more practical dealing with small pieces of artwork – especially when you’re selling from Canada and have shipping charges up the wazoo. So for now, I embrace my tiny art.

And this has nothing to do with the fact that I’m a weakling and couldn’t carry a heavy painting if my life depended on it.

I swear!

Animals in Hats @ http://etsy.me/ou3e0i

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on July 6, 2011, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

