Don’t just sit there. Do something!

Sad Wombat

Starting up a new shop is rough, really rough. You’re a new seller; you’ve listed a couple of great items.. then you sit at the computer and wonder why no one is looking at your shiny new shop. Back before I even opened, I had spent months and months preparing, getting the right equipment, working on paintings, learning as much as I could about the ins and outs of having a shop on Etsy. I knew as a beginner shop, it could very well take a long time to get a sale, let alone regular sales.

I’m not here to sit about and whine about the slow start of having a new shop or wanting to quit or any of that. I’ve already seen so much of that on the Etsy forums. At this point, I feel like it should be quite the opposite. Having a slow few weeks has made me even more determined to keep going. There’s always something to do, always, always, always. Here’s just part of my to-do list right now..

– prep all of my ACEOs to list as 5×7 prints.

– turning that around – prep all of my 5x7s to list as ACEO prints.

– prep listings for all of my original ACEO paintings.

– start planning on how I’m going to sell all of my other canvas paintings.

– planning different ways to display my artwork so I can take new photographs.

– rework all of my item descriptions, varying wording, titles, and brushing up tags.

– create new artwork, come up with new ideas.

– promoting on twitter, facebook, tumblr, etsy teams, etc, etc.

The last goes on, and on.

So don’t just sit there wondering why views or sales may be low. Don’t just sit there and whine. Sit, whine, then do something about it! There should ALWAYS be something on that to-do list, stuff to work on, things to improve.

And don’t forget to update that blog.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on July 11, 2011, in Artwork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

