Why I’m A New Etsy Treasury Fan – or – Where Did My Afternoon Just Go?!

I never really ‘got’ Etsy treasuries. There are endless amounts of teams on etsy dedicated to them; people talk about how important treasuries can be for connecting with other sellers, getting more exposure, and maybe even get some sales. (Well, maybe if you cross all your fingers and toes and pray to the Etsy gods!) Now I have nothing against treasuries, but I’ve already felt pretty overwhelmed with all the aspects of having an Etsy shop. With painting, scanning items, prepping listings, taking photos, editing photos, keeping a page on twitter, facebook, a blog, tumblr, etc, etc, well now geez, now treasuries? After having a to-do list a mile long, I should also sift through hundreds of thousands of items on the site and make this treasury thing? Regularly? Are you SERIOUS??

 

At least, that was my first thought when I first started setting up shop on Etsy. But now I’ve had my shop for about a month and a half, and now, well, I thought maybe I should actually give this treasury thing a shot. At least try making one, right? Can’t hurt. Not just to try to get more exposure or whatever, but some of my items have even been featured in a few treasuries and I’m always insanely grateful whenever I get that opportunity; so why shouldn’t I spent a little time to showcase some really beautiful items and pass along the love?

So I spent some time planning my first Etsy treasury.. and holy bajeesus I swear I am just not normal. I can be easy going with a whole lot of things, but when it comes to anything artsy, I can be very particular to downright anal. I guess the ‘better’ way to say that is that I can be a perfectionist, but poh-tay-toe, poh-tah-toe! You can’t just throw some random items together and go, here! Well okay, you can, but dammit, I can’t. I have to get the right theme down. Then I have to figure out how I want to portray this theme.. gotta find the right items – the right group of items. Items that work together, work with the theme, and most importantly, items that I love, things that bring a smile to my face. WHEW. It ain’t easy! Well, not if you’re anal – I mean, particular.

So after all that, after all is said and done, I can happily say that I made my first treasury last night. I’ve seen a lot of light, bright treasuries and wanted do create something that I would really enjoy making: a darker, deeper, richer collection.. and a little sparkle never hurts..

I saved it and breathed a sigh of relief. It was done! I was thrilled. Made some amazing finds, arranged just so, and made a neat little collection I was proud of.

All done!

Except.. now I wanted to make another.

Well, crap.

I really didn’t think treasuries would be addicting. But.. I was now addicted.

So today I opened up some new windows and got to work on another one. Turning it around this time, I wanted to make a bright, light, breezy treasury. Colourful, rainbow items but also soft and gentle at the same time.

What did I get myself into??

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on July 20, 2011, in Artwork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. wow! these are great treasuries, worth every painstaking effort. I love treasuries, and I get a thrill ‘meeting’ the etsy members I include, its a great way to connect and enrich the etsy experience.

Leave a Reply

