Simplify Your Life? Yeah Right.

New Nerd - The Yorkshire Puppy

It’s already August! How the heck did that happen? It feels like I’ve just blinked a few times and summer’s already half over. I barely just got into July!

While looking for inspiration, I realized that the first week of August (again, how did August sneak up like that?) is ‘Simplify Your Life Week’. This is a time where we should really just pause and re-evaluate your priorities and figure out how to leave clutter out and simplify everything around you.

.. this is a hell of a lot easier said than done, of course.

I mean, I’m now entering the third month of having a little shop online. I feel like I’m sort of getting into a groove, but I feel like I’m still far from being as completely focused as I’d like. Especially now: I’m still figuring out what direction I’d like to take this shop, what exactly I’d like my niche to be, who I want my audience to be and how I want to reach them. And the fun (and hard!) part about running your own business is that you can practically do whatever you’d like with it. I can constantly try new things and see what works for me and what works for the shop.

Ah, the life of a new shop owner. It’s not easy!

Being inspired by Simplify Your Life Week, I created a treasury on Etsy to find even more inspiration.

Every time I make a treasury, I’m always in awe of all the beautiful items I find!

One thing I finally decided to do was to rearrange my shop items. It was easy to organize the layout of a shop when you have oh, say 20 items. Or even 40 items. But now? I’ve hit the 180 item mark and I’ll definitely be touching 200 soon, and flipping through pages and pages of items, I felt like I was swimming in a sea of random furry critters. I finally decided to arrange everything and group the same prints together, and I think it’s a lot more organized now. At least for me! So much easier for me to look through and see what sizes may be missing and what I should work on next. Who knew something as simple as rearranging some items could make such a change.

With this whole Simplify Your life Week, I’d like to really try to refocus and figure out what my priorities should be. How do you prioritize? How do you stay focused? How will you simplify?

Also, I like that the nerdy army is at the forefront.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on August 5, 2011, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

