Nerdy Alpacas, Lights @ The Ex, Pumpkin Cats, & Jack Layton’s Funeral

Nerdy But Cute Alpaca - 8x10 Art Print

A friend suggested an alpaca as an animal on my to-do list and I just couldn’t resist their fluffy faces and incredibly spiffy hairdo! I just want to ruffle the hair on their heads in glee. I probably spent too much time painting this nerdy alpaca’s ‘do, but I really wanted it to be ruffle-worthy =)

I haven’t spent as much time as I would like creating new art but that’s because I’ve been preoccupied trying out new things that I would like to eventually add to my little Etsy shop.

Also I’ve actually been kind of social the past little while! Kinda crazy. There’s been family barbecues, nights out for dinner with relatives and family friends, pigging out at The Ex with friends, not to mention all the deliciousness when I headed out to Buskerfest, I think I probably need to start being a little more busy with that treadmill after the last month or so though, ohmygosh! *pats belly*

Actually I went to The Ex to see Lights perform at the Bandshell on Thursday. I love Lights and it was a fun night, although I don’t think I would really want to the Bandshell again or I’d have to go insanely early because everyone – EVERYONE was standing on their seats and I could barely see her the entire time.  Sigh! I managed to get a bunch of videos though. Not the best, considering I’m a shrimp in a sea of tall people STANDING ON ALL THE SEATS, but I figured I’d give it a shot anyway. Lights still rocked it so I’m very grateful for the chance to see her again =)

And the entre playlist of the night is here because I love you ^_~

Pumpkin Cat Is Not Amused

I’ve been slowly getting into the Halloween spirit. I know it’s still only August, but hey! It’s the end of August now! The warm summer nights aren’t warm anymore, and with September right around the corner, soon all the ghosts and creepy crawlies will be out. Okay, kids dressed as ghosts and creepy crawlies, but still, that counts!

I think if I were going to dress Mini the cat, well I would definitely first try to get her some crazy wings, but my second choice would be a pumpkin costume, because not only would she give me that same ‘wtf’ expression.. so would my boyfriend.

I watched Jack Layton’s funeral yesterday (with a bunch of tissues on hand, just in case) and I was so incredibly moved by it. I’ve never seen a funeral service filled with such celebration over one man’s life. I still can’t get over it: a funeral filled with wonderfully uplifting and fun music, great memories of stories filled with humour and love and such amazing passionate speeches. It was just amazing. I remember reading an awesome tweet: “I don’t know if it’s possible to have a “cool” funeral, but if it is, Jack Layton is having one right now.” It’s been so inspiring to see the entire country come together to celebrate and thank someone in such a way as they have Jack.

Thank you, Jack.

My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we’ll change the world.

– Jack Layton (1950-2011)

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on August 28, 2011, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

