A First Attempt at Resin Jewellery

Devil Raven

I finally learned how to split content in a post. About time, right?

It’s been a tough week with my fibro really just beating me up, but I’m trying to chug along. New paintings have been slow, mostly because I’ve been working away at making a logo and overall branding of my shop.  I think I’m making some progress, but it’s a very slow and involving task and it’s been taking time away from actually creating new art. I need to either stop being so picky.. or start looking into creating a robot to do all the extra work for me.

Anyone have a spare robot??

My first test pendant, yay!

 

I’ve been looking expanding and creating pendants of my art. It’s taken a bit of research and time to hunt down the right supplies for me, because it’s like when I first got into making prints: I always have to make sure that I do things right before putting anything up for purchase. When I first decided to make prints, I spent hours and hours researching and learning and seeing what equipment would suit me, what paper to use, what supplies I needed to protect my artwork, and all the effort I think was worth it and I’ve been super pleased with the prints that I can make now.

So the same goes with pendant making. I didn’t want just an image with a dome covering it, or something like a glaze covering the image like I’ve read so much about. I decided that I would try my hand at resin making.

 

 

This is not a tutorial, but just some progress shots of  my first attempt at using resin. It’s not as hard as I thought it’d be! I first sized and printed out a sheet of my art that I thought would work as a circle pendant.

^ Cutting out the circles, I attached the image onto a circle that would be the pendant. Nerdy turtle!

^ This is after pouring my mixed resin onto my pieces (: It was a little messy but so much more fun than I expected.

^ A better angle of the actual resin sitting on my pieces. So shiny!

^ After a few days, the pieces set wonderfully (:

^ Some handy bails are just the thing to turn my images into a hanging pendant (:

This has taken a bit of time to get everything together. These first few here are really just testers. It’s taken a bit of trial and error to figure out exactly how I want the final pendants to look and feel, and what materials I’ll be using for the actual ones that I’d like to sell. I’m hoping to start to really get into creating more pendants and adding some variety to my shop soon (:

Just painted; no resin yet.

Oh I almost forgot.. I also started some actual painted pendants. Way cute! And relaxing painting so tiny.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on September 12, 2011, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

