Project 365 – Day 7 and 8: Merry Christmas!.. in January

Day 7 - Gingerbread House of Horrors

Yesterday my friend happened to pick up one of those gingerbread house kits. I’m sure you know those kits.. the ones that seem overpriced around the holidays, but after Christmas, you want to stock up on those boxes because now they’re 98 cents – and really, who says no to a 98 cent gingerbread house???

I had originally spent so much time icing the little eyes and smiles of the gingerbread characters.. but I suddenly was having an insanely rough night emotionally, and it was really hard to get into the mood again to decorate this poor house and make it look pretty. So in the end, we kind of made a really half-assed attempt. My happy gingerbread man became a really evil gingerbread man, who just happened to go on a rampage, knocking the head off of the gingerbread snowman, and was now trying to kick down the door of the gingerbread house to light the place on fire.

Er, yeah. I wasn’t having the best night at the time, but it did make me feel better to break that head off the snowman..  Plus we also ended up with a strange blob-like creature on top of the gingerbread chimney.. I declared it Cthulhu and gave him two red candy eyes. 

It’s a shame the icing was annoying to deal with, and the candy as well as the icing tasted horrible. But for 98 cents? Lets do it again! And get the gingerbread train this time!

Day 8 - Ho ho ho!

 

Over the last few years, I made it a little personal tradition to add at least one new ornament to the tree each Christmas, and for whatever reason, I never got to getting a new one this time around.  But today after seeing Sherlock Holmes 2 (highly recommended!) I happened to be into Kitchen Stuff Plus and saw that all of their Christmas ornaments were around 50% off. Score! Our Christmas tree is still up (yes, I tend to leave it up as long as possible.. it’s soo much work to take it all down right away!) so it was the perfect opportunity to add on a new ornament.

I ended up getting a super cute Santa Claus ornament that was a grand total of $2. The tree looks extra snazzy now!

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on January 8, 2012, in Project 365 - 2012 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I really like your house! So cute! Where did you get it?

Leave a Reply

