Tarot Card Art: The Lovers & The Three of Swords

An art post.. surprise! I actually haven’t worked on the tarot series for a while but these were the last two that were completed that I realized that I didn’t get a chance to fully write about them yet.

I was super, super excited to work on The Lovers tarot. I knew immediately that I needed a special pair of animals that had a really strong bond and I really wanted to lean towards animals that mate for life. Though seahorses don’t necessarily mate for life, I could so easily imagine how this artwork would look with a pair of seahorses. I tried to create a card that, though using a lot of cool colours, still had this sense of warmth, love and intimacy. I had a lot of fun with this one. (And seahorses are so gosh darn cute!)

When I first wanted to create my own tarot card deck, I wanted to choose the cards at random to change things up a little. So I was pretty excited when I drew the Three of Swords. After so many light hearted cards, this one was about betrayal and pain.. a complete opposite from all the joy that went into the Lovers card.

The typical Three of Swords tarot has an illustration of a heart with three swords basically impaling it. There are clouds and it’s dreary and raining. It’s not a very pleasant card. To take that and to turn it, I remembered an animal that’s come up in an illustration I’ve done before.. the bleeding heart dove. How perfect was this animal for this card! I didn’t want to make this card too incredibly gory and this bird was a perfect fit. I made the swords more like smaller daggers and hoped to make this tarot feel more cold and stark than past cards.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on February 29, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

