The Moon Tarot Card Art.. Finally, a Bunny!

Every since the last tarot card was painted, I had The Moon tarot on my mind for a long time. My boyfriend helped me with a lot of ideas for this one. The Moon tarot is all about illusions, dreams, madness – and imagination. The rabbit was easily the animal of choice for The Moon as the rabbit has been linked to the moon in a lot of cultures – and about time I used a rabbit! I am the girl obsessed with bunnies, and oddly enough, I really haven’t painted many bunnies in general so far. I think this needs to be changed immediately.

The moon tarot has so many different elements so it was a challenge to try to incorporate some of them while not complicating the painting too much. This ended up being my first tarot painting where the animal is just a small part of the painting, and it’s funny because it didn’t hit me at first that this card would look a little different from the others. I guess my mind wanted to go in a different direction and thankfully I’m happy with this one (I mean, really. Bunnies. How could I not like it.)

 

 

The rabbit above is looking at the moon in the reflection. I think it’s fully aware that the moon below is not the same as above.. in fact, nothing above is reflected in the water. The rabbit below doesn’t follow the rabbit above, but looks away at a more magical view of the stars. The trees below became my two pillars, wrapping around the reflected moon. The moon can be your guiding light; which direction do you take? Stay above or dive into the unknown?

 

 

 

This painting is in honour of my bunny Lucy. Miss you, fuzzy butt.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on March 28, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The moon is always my favorite card in any deck, yours is particularly lovely and poignant.
    All the best on completing your deck!

  1. Pingback: Project 365: Day 79-81: Eggplant, TV, and Bunnies. Random! « Rainbow of Crazy

  2. Pingback: Project 365: Day 84-85: Bringing Bunnies Back « Rainbow of Crazy

Leave a Reply

