DEATH: The Card of Change


“Of all the wonders that I yet have heard,
It seems to me most strange that men should fear;
Seeing that death, a necessary end,
Will come when it will come.”

– William Shakespeare

I really enjoyed Death. Is that a weird thing to say?  The original tarot is usually looking pretty eerie: you’ve got Death riding a horse, and dead people are scattered everywhere. Not exactly a pleasant image. My Death card would have none of that! .. okay, maybe a few skulls, but hey, those were already dead long ago, I swear.

With my tarot, I ended up going with my instincts again and decided to paint a raven, an animal that is often associated with death and rebirth. I definitely wanted some mirrors to the original Death tarot: from the rubble of raven skulls below, a living raven rises up into the sky, holding a white rose, a flower which is also seen in the traditional Death tarot. This card can certainly mean actual death, but it can also mean a closing of a chapter, a time of change, an event coming to an end to make way for something new. The sun peering out of the corner is like that new chapter that is about to begin. Death happens and things to come to an end, but “sometimes things have to fall apart to make way for better things.” (Yeah, I did it. I just threw in a How I Met Your Mother quote. Was that a little too nerdy? My bad.) I really liked learning more about this card and incorporating these different elements into my own illustration. This painting has easily become one of my favourite cards so far.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on April 20, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

