Etsy: Where Resellers Thrive

I’ve been following Regretsy’s article on Etsy’s featured seller who just happens to be a reseller. Resellers seem to be rampant on Etsy and now they’ve even featured one in a slot that could have gone to someone who truly creates handmade items and actually deserves the recognition. I’ve lost some faith in Etsy’s lack of response or action on taking care of this now (pardon my French) shit storm. I’m still hoping something will actually come out of this, but it’s tiring to keep caring when nothing seems to be happening. As a seller on Etsy, I am very disappointed.

So instead I just wanted to have a nice collection of links regarding this debacle so far..

– Regretsy’s outing of said reseller

the original featured seller article

– the petition for a public apology from Etsy

now on Metafilter – Can you buy plausible deniability anywhere online now that Etsy’s run completely out of it?

now on Consumerist – Etsy Features Seller Who May Be Blatantly Violating Etsy Policy

– the Daily Dot – Etsy promotes alleged reseller

– WebProNews – Etsy’s Reseller Debacle: Handmade Site Features Questionable Goods

I wonder how far this has to go until something is finally done. For now, I’ll sit back, eat some imaginary popcorn (there’s none left in the house, sigh.) or maybe some soup.. I’ve been sick for a few days now ): and work on some more kitty pendants. And also get more excited about TheCraftStar, a new selling venue coming soon.

Edit: Looks like they’ve now edited the article.. the feature still stands. The shop still stands and will continue to keep going. I am speechless. Here is an admin started thread (finally) that’s going on strong.

Edit edit: Oh come on now. Second try, since admin keeps closing the damn things.

Edit: And it goes on!

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on April 23, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I just can’t believe that Etsy didn’t quickly hide and bury the article once all of the reseller information came to light. If onyl to minimize the damage done to themselves. Crazy drama!

    As a handmade seller on their site, this is like a slap in the face. Most especially, I would imagine, to all of the REAL wood furniture sellers on Etsy. A public apology is a MUST.

    • I thought the first they they should’ve done was some damage control.. it went on for so long before anyone from Etsy even acknowledged it. I’m still keeping an eye out to see if anything happens but I’ll actually be pretty surprised if they ever come out with any kind of apology. :\

Leave a Reply

