Shadows

I’ve got every painting, every image and photograph organized on my computer, and when I had scanned this one in and made a new folder for it, I wasn’t really sure what to call the folder. Rabbit shadow? Galaxy something-or-other?? Bwuh???

I ended up calling it simply “Shadows”. I had this image as a drawing  or two in my sketchbook (sans stars) and I wondered what I could do with it as a full painting. I just liked the imagery of these long shadows that become greater than the actual person (or in this case, bunny) casting it. So that little sketch slowly worked its way into a full painting.

I wanted to continue on from Letting Go and create more imagery with a little more emotion, a little more abstract, something with a little more meaning than what I’ve painted in the past. I feel like I’m taking baby steps, but I’m slowly getting there. I really like this painting, like Letting Go, it’s something that’s just kinda cute and a little pretty but can have a lot more meaning behind it than from first glance. I actually was a bit stuck when I was painting this. I pictured the rabbit sitting in different settings. Should it be on grass? On a ground of dirt? On a blank, white canvas? I decided to go with a more abstract, textured background with a neutral brown, and let the galaxy and the stars, the purples and faint pinks stand out more.

With this image, well, I feel like it represents a time when you feel like you’re present, you’re here. You may even be alone, but your true self is far, far away, somewhere as far as another planet or even another galaxy. It’s kind of hard to describe what was going through my head at the time; I’m not very good at explaining my own imagery, but that’s a bit of a glimpse of where I wanted to go with this one.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Lovved this little critter.

  1. Pingback: Project 365: Day 118-123. But really, goodbye House! « Rainbow of Crazy

Leave a Reply

