Ace of Pentacles Tarot – The Scarab Beetle

This tarot card kicked my butt for a really long time. When I first started to work on ideas for it, for some reason I was drawn to the idea of the scarab – or you know, to put it bluntly – the dung beetle. I really loved their role as being sacred to the Ancient Egyptians, and the idea that this critter can create this perfect sphere.. that was my metaphorical pentacle.

I loved beetles growing up; back in 6th grade, we did a project on mealworms. They were so cute! Smooth, not slimy with those cute little faces. My friend and I even named our little mealworms after McDonalds’ burgers. (Flash back to the rumours that mealworms were fillers in burger meat) We had Quarter Pounder, and my little Big Mac, among others. When our project was done, I decided to take a few of my now-beetles home, and man, those guys reproduced for years. All through high school, even. I was in beetle heaven! I don’t have them anymore but I have fond memories of those little guys.

 

I wasn’t really sure if a beetle would be fitting with the style of this deck, but eventually I went with my instincts and I think I’m pretty happy with this card. I decided to shape the painting in a way to create my round pentacle with the branches and leaves, with the sun in the background with the traditional five points of the pentacle. I don’t know if it was really necessary for the beetle to be rainbow coloured; but I suppose it works. This tarot is about abundance and wealth (hence the grapes as well) so I thought a joyful beetle with all the colours of the rainbow would be fitting. This is definitely a throw back to those little beetles way back when.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on May 18, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Really Nice

  2. Oh my gosh, I think the beetle for Ace of Pentacles is perfect! I absolutely love this! Now I’m going to dig through your blog in hopes of seeing more tarot cards. 😀

  3. Okay, looking through your gallery on Etsy, I’ve already faved some of your tarot card art! Two of Cups is LOVE! Are you going to publish the deck once you’ve finished all of the paintings? (Please, please say yes!)

    • Errr, I meant The Lovers, not Two of Cups (was going on memory and got it wrong).

      • Ahh thanks so much! This has been the most challenging project I’ve ever tried and sometimes it feels like it’ll take me forever to finish it. I so appreciate any comments or input I can get my hands on, lol, it all means so much to me. I’ll do my best to work harder and faster at finishing all the paintings and I definitely want to get decks made after that. That’ll be my dream come true. I also have all of the completed ones on deviantart; it might be easier to see them all that way: http://sobeyondthis.deviantart.com/gallery/32847081 (: (Still have a LONG way to go!)

        Thanks SO much!

        • Oooh, yay! When you’re ready to publish decks, I will be first in line! And thanks for the DA link – now I can look at all of them together!

          Yeah, 78 original paintings is a HUGE undertaking, which is why I haven’t started working too much on my ideas yet. For now, I’ll happily watch your progress. Cheers. 🙂

          • Thank you for your support!! I don’t know what I was thinking at the beginning.. “OH HEY 78 PAINTINGS? EASY PEASY.” (Plus the extra one for the Happy Squirrel!) And that was about a year ago that I wanted to start… lol. I have such respect for everyone that’s finished the entire deck now!

            I’ll do my best though (:

  1. Pingback: Project 365: Day124-128: Art and Arrested Development « Rainbow of Crazy

  2. Pingback: (Unfinished) Tarot Decks I Want Badly | her sixth circle

Leave a Reply

