Platypus: The Page of Cups Tarot

The pages can sometimes represent a youth or even an inner child. High spirited and full of energy, I wanted the Page of Cups have that child-like emotion to it. I wanted a playful, practically care-free painting that flowed like the emotions of the Cups cards.

The platypus became a pretty easy choice: their automatic smile and that quirky mesh of different animals into one; they’re like a children’s drawing come to life. I’ve enjoyed painting flowers and plants to represent my cups and this was no exception. A purple/white lotus flower became my cup, and is also symbolic of a time of enlightenment. I can only hope that when this tarot deck is finally complete, and this card is drawn, that it brings a little inspiration and joy.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on June 11, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You know, I often have trouble with the court cards; Wildwood court cards are especially troublesome for me, since they’re represented by animals. But somehow this one speaks to me rather easily! Either I’m getting better at interpreting them, or yours are just very well done — probably both! This is just lovely. I am so looking forward to the day that I can have the entire deck in my hands. 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I still have erm, over 50 cards to paint, but darn it, one day it will be done!

      I had trouble learning about the tarot cards when I was first interested in them. Right now it’s still a lot of learning for me, and I think that was one of the reasons too why I wanted to create my own deck. Interpreting the imagery of other decks ended up being a challenge because it was never one of my strong suits, but I’m hoping this deck will help make it easier for me or for someone else to interpret effectively.

Leave a Reply

