Owl: The High Priestess Tarot

 

 

 

The High Priestess was pretty challenging for me because I could easily see so many animals representing  this tarot card. I was definitely drawn to the owl and although I’m trying to include a balance of different kinds of animals, in the end I felt that the owl best represented the High Priestess: her beauty, her mystery, her divinity, her wisdom and freedom. It’s actually incredibly hard not to think of birds as a symbol for these cards because they’re just such beautiful animals; there are so many shapes and sizes and different kinds of symbolism with each one.

 

 

 

 

After I chose the owl, the next challenge was to choose what kind of owl to paint. I swear, I nearly went over as many owl breeds as I could, seeing all their different builds, patterns, and colours before I decided to choose the striped owl. I was definitely drawn to its ‘horns’ but its beautifully contrasting colours that sealed the deal. I really wanted this owl to have a presence and to feel as grand as the High Priestess should be. The moon was one of the key symbols in this card and I wanted this card to feel like the moon was as empowering as the High Priestess. I definitely enjoyed painting this tarot.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on June 22, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh, she is absolutely *beautiful*!!! This one might be my favorite so far. Stunning!

Leave a Reply

