Speaking of Spiders… the Wheel of Fortune Tarot

I hated spiders when I was a kid. Hated spiders. I remember finding not one, but two spiders on my bed one night.. and promptly spent the rest of my night in my parents’ bed. For like days after. Now of course, I don’t mind them so much. (Except for the ones I kept seeing while I was in California.. because they looked like they could eat the small ones we get in Toronto for breakfast. Blech!) I’m not particularly fond of finding them on me, but if one happens to be on the wall or my desk, I just let them be, because while I may not be the biggest fan of spiders, I hate fruit flies more. And the spiders can nom on aall the fruit flies they want.

Choosing a spider to paint for the Wheel of Fortune too was not the easiest of tasks either. It was a very easy choice in that the spider can be symbolic as the weaver of fate, but having a plethora of spider photographs as inspiration and reference, all spread out on the desktop, it kinda makes you itchy. Those creepy faces, those hairs, ugh, do I really have to stare at these?? But I persisted, and this painting was the result. I chose the orb weaver spider because frankly, I thought it was quite beautiful, in that creepy oh-god-it’s-still-a-spider-but-I-can-live-with-that kind of way, and I had a lot of fun painting the curving tree branch to mimic the wheel shape. The actual web itself was practically a treat to paint, thankfully. Not the most pleasant of experiences creating this tarot, but I think it worked out.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on July 29, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love this one! The spider IS quite beautiful! Bravo to you!

Leave a Reply

