Seven of Cups Tarot: Polar Bear Love

I was hesitant to paint a polar bear, mostly because I had already painted a black bear with the Nine of Cups tarot. But I think the polar bear really belonged in this tarot deck. And with all these poor bears struggling lately, I think they need all the love that they can get. And I thought that this bear would fit perfectly with the Seven of Cups.

This card definitely seemed like a challenge to create at first, especially when you look at imagery of the other Seven of Cups cards. The typical image is pretty cluttered because that’s really what that tarot is supposed to be: a big mess of everything. Choices with little direction. Chaos. I didn’t want my Seven of Cups to be overly chaotic, but more symbolically so. It hit me that having the Northern Lights representing the seven cups would be a great fit. The sky becomes a whirlwind of colours. The polar bear is the navigator, the one that must choose which direction to take, under the beauty of that sky. I also left the water below as blank; the lights aren’t reflected at all. The water is dark and dreary, representing the uneasy path that lies ahead.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on August 5, 2012, in Artwork, Tarot and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

