Burned to the Ground

Original Burned

My boyfriend always offered such great support with my fibromyalgia paintings. While I was in California, I was really focused on my tarot paintings, and he suggested that I should create at least one fibro paintings while I was there.

I struggled a lot with what I wanted to paint. Though I find a great connection with the fibro paintings, I’ve had a lot of difficulty creating them because it’s been tough trying to translate something like fibromyalgia into something visual. Or rather, I still find it hard to paint something that I know well but can’t quite put into words, or in this case, into a painting.

I decided to maybe find inspiration in past paintings, and fortunately felt a spark with the itty bitty Burned painting I created early last year. That painting was micro sized, 2 1/2″ by 1 1/2″; so I wanted to take something similar to that, and create something bigger as an 8×10 painting. Burned I came out of that.

Burned I

Burned I represents some of the physical pain that goes through the body of someone with fibro. Even as I type right now, I can feel the pain searing through my neck, shoulders, down to my wrists and fingers, and lingering slightly in my lower back. It’s definitely not a fun experience and I feel for anyone that goes through physical pains.

I really wanted to play with the fire imagery more with this painting; so I thought of having the fire riding up not only the woman’s back, but taking the entire painting up in flames with it. I think the imagery worked out in the end, and I managed to finish the painting once I got back to Toronto.

It helps sometimes to have that little push to create more work. I definitely need to push myself more to create more fibro work.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on August 6, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. As someone with chronic pain [including Fibro] I really get this. Putting it into an image other people can understand is brilliant.

Leave a Reply

