Six of Pentacles: Alligators at the Dentist

The Six of Pentacles was a hard tarot to paint. The traditional image shows a wealthy looking man offering some food to a couple of beggars. I had a few different animals in mind, but this tarot shows people of very two different statuses in one situation: one is giving while the other is receiving. In the end I thought it would be best to have multiple creatures – two very different creatures in this case, coming together in a partnership. And the alligator and bird came to be.

This bizarre kind of relationship has been mentioned a bit over the internet, about how an Egyptian plover would hop into an open crocodile’s mouth, cleaning the crocodile’s giant teeth while the plover finds food in return. Everyone wins! Granted I’ve also seen this imagery debunked as well, but I think it’s the general idea of a partnership with unlike creatures that ended up working well with this tarot. I did decide on an alligator over a crocodile, as more of a personal preference. I think this tarot became a nice balance of cute and deadly.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on August 10, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

