The Knight of Cups Tarot: Hippo!

The Page of Cups was represented by the platypus, but I wanted a larger, more powerful animal for the Knight of Cups. I thought that the hippopotamus would work well with the highs and lows of this tarot. Strong, loving, gentle yet fierce, highly emotional and unpredictable; you’re not quite sure where you stand with the Knight of Cups, but you know that you are past the first few steps of the beginning of your journey and that you are now on your way.

I think the cups in these paintings have varied the most: flowers to leaves to the Northern Light; this time I painted an oyster holding a pearl, representing the emotional ties to the moon. I painted the hippo swimming and making a big splash in the water, representing the constant changes of emotion and behaviours of this knight. The waters may be rough, but the knight will adapt and learn to work with it to get to his destination.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on August 13, 2012, in Artwork, Tarot and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

