Project 365: Day 210: You never go hungry at a Chinese wedding

Day 210 – Wedding time!

I went to a relative’s wedding reception recently. I wasn’t originally going; my parents were going themselves, but there was an extra spot and I ended up going at the last minute. Woohoo! I love weddings and receptions. I so rarely get to fully dress up and I relish every moment of wearing something sparkly and girly (which is why I’ve been known to do so for no other reason than wanting to dress up!) The reception was lovely, the bride was beautiful, and the food – traditional Chinese wedding fare – of course, did not disappoint. And I especially appreciated the open bar! Much love to the bartender, who was pretty darn generous with the rum in my (many) rum and cokes! It was a lovely night, with the extra bonus of watching my 12 year old second cousin catching the bouquet (:

Beautiful little keepsakes – they were filled with Lindt chocolate. Mm!

The menu.. oh my!

Traditional Chinese wedding fare is a literal feast. I’ve been to a lot of Chinese wedding receptions, and if you’ve never been and find yourself an opportunity to go, say yes immediately, lol. It must be experienced at least once.

First course: Suckling Pig with Jelly Fish

Second course: Deep Fried Crab Claw

Third Course: Prawn, Sauteed Scallops w/Broccoli

Fourth Course: Shark Fin Soup with Crabmeat

Fifth Course: Abalone, Chinese Mushrooms w/Greens

Sixth Course: Steamed Grouper

Seventh Course: Lobsters w/Green Onions, Ginger

Eighth Course: Crispy Fried Chicken

Ninth & Tenth Courses: Fried Rice, E-Fu Noodles

Eleventh Course: Sweet Red Bean Soup

The twelfth course, two kinds of Chinese cookies, included Chinese almond cookies and Chinese butterfly cookiesI didn’t get to take a picture of them, and I also couldn’t get a good shot of all the desserts after that, which included the wedding cake, tons of fresh fruit, a slew of other cakes including tiramisu, mini cheesecakes, and a bunch of others that I couldn’t recognize, lol. But all the desserts were amazing and to be honest, I was pretty much done by the fifth course. lol. Everything was fantastic though and it was a fun night!

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on August 15, 2012, in Project 365 - 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow, that all looks so good! What a beautiful banquet room too!

Leave a Reply

