Fly High, Kitty

Sometimes when I’m trying to find some kind of new inspiration, I’ve found it really helpful to look at old work instead. I was looking at a lot of these miniature little paintings I made on pendants, and I thought I could try turning them into larger, fuller paintings.

I’ve painted a lot of little black cat pendants, and this particular pendant with a black cat floating with a balloon was the inspiration for the larger painting above. I wanted to paint something fairly simple and uncluttered to start off with and ended up with this painting of a soft blue sky, a touch of clouds, and a floating cat. I wondered if I should paint a face on the cat; maybe it was about time? But I thought that keeping a silhouette of the cat as is would add to its charm. What do you think?

I… I have a bit of a problem now though.

This cat is addicting.

I need to paint more of this cat. A lot more! I remember seeing a comment a little while ago, hoping that the cat will land safely when it happens, but I don’t think this kitty is quite done the journey yet. There’s still an entire world to see!

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on August 24, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love cats, and love your blog 😀 So I’ve nominated you for the “Very Inspiring Blogger” award and there’re some instructions to receive it here – http://omnommables.wordpress.com/2012/08/25/very-inspiring-blogger/ Have a great week 😀

Leave a Reply

