Six of Swords Tarot Card: Penguins!

The sixes are now complete with the Six of Swords! I wanted the image of a mother holding her child protectively and thought that the penguin would be perfect. I didn’t want to paint the more popular Emperor Penguin and chose the Adéle Penguin for their beautiful yet simple markings.

I think every time I write about a swords card that I’ve worked on, I have to mention how swords have not been my cup of tea. But you know what? This one was pretty cool to work on. This painting was different than all the other swords tarots so far because the swords here feel more surreal than anything. I placed faint outlines of the swords on the water; they almost look like they’re just under the surface of the water. Our penguins have been through a lot of hardships on this long, harsh journey; so  I wanted the swords to guide them and help them find their safe destination.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on September 27, 2012, in Artwork, Tarot and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Just pulled this card from the Universal Waite deck. I love your version. It helps bring me some clarity about this card. Your drawings really capture the energy of the cards!

  1. Pingback: Bad Flower Tarot

Leave a Reply

