Slender Man and Pumpkins of Past

“We didn’t want to go, we didn’t want to kill them, but its persistent silence and outstretched arms horrified and comforted us at the same time…”

My pumpkin this year. I love it. I I’m amazed I actually carved Slender Man and it went really smoothly, because I was kind of expecting a disaster! We were outside when we lit it, and kept hearing freaky noises going on somewhere close.. so once my friend blew out the candle I practically made a mad dash back inside!

Here are a few shots of Slender Man when I finished carving:

My friends and I have only been carving pumpkins the last couple of years.. here are all of the pumpkins we’ve carved since:

^ 2012: This year’s pumpkins. I gotta say, this is actually the first (and only) time we had proper pumpkin carving tools. I definitely wouldn’t have attempted Slender Man with normal kitchen knives! I carved Slender Man while my friends carved the FFUUU rage guy pumpkin and Space Invaders pumpkin.

 

 

2011: My friend and I carved these two pumpkins, using awesome white pumpkins for the first time. We made a Jack Skellington pumpkin and a more generic pumpkin with lots of freaky teeth. I think they made a fine pair! This year and all the past years, we’ve been using normal kitchen knives. I don’t really recommend this anymore. lol. Pumpkin carving tools are much better, and a lot safer.

But I really liked these guys. And we haven’t lost any fingers in the process.. so you know.. that’s always a good thing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2010: My friend and I only carved one pumpkin this year, and decided to try carving the Cheshire Cat. He was definitely fun to carve, and we used toothpicks to hold his eyes and giant teeth pieces in place.

^ 2009: This was our first year carving pumpkins, and with the three of us, we each carved our own pumpkin. I carved the first pumpkin and it was a lot of fun. I think each pumpkin represented each of us well that year, lol.

Looking forward to the 2013 pumpkins!

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on October 28, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I really love the 2011 pumpkins!

  2. Hi Joanna! I love the pumpkins – you are a skilled sculptor!
    I’ve nominated you for the inspiring blogger award! For the rules, see my awards page: http://theartfrog.wordpress.com/awards/
    Enjoy the well deserved award and Happy Halloween!

  3. These are all so freaking AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

