Project 365: Day 278-279: Gobble Gobble!

My family never really did the whole Thanksgiving dinner thing. (That’s a lot of work, yo.) The only times I’ve really had a traditional Thanksgiving dinner were the handful of times at friends or relatives’ homes. But this year I totally had the opportunity to have my first Thanksgiving at home. And no surprise, it was a lot of work, yo.

Day 278 – Defrosting Day in the sink

I scoured all sorts of turkey recipes online and combined a little bit of everything that sounded great into my own (what I like to call) “speshul” turkey. I decided I really wanted to brine the bird and do a little herb butter under the skin for some extra flavour. Damn, typing that just made me a little hungry. Why do I always write these things up so late at night?

This was my first attempt at cooking a full turkey. We ended up with two smaller sized turkeys and it worked out pretty well. I defrosted the birds the night before Thanksgiving, and brined them overnight. Now back when I had a job in food service, I was relentless with washing my hands, and I swear, still the most I had ever washed my hands in a single day was that Turkey Brining Day. Large, raw poultry with raw juices flying? GAH! Honestly that part was such a horrible experience. I’m perfectly fine with dealing with raw food, but when I’m trying to brine two large raw turkeys by myself, well, seriously. It’s pretty gross.

Day 279 – Gobble gobble!

I did a ton of planning ahead though and the actual Thanksgiving Day went really smoothly. Despite all of the work and prep I had to do ahead of time, it was totally, totally worth it.  I managed to squeeze out two turkeys, mashed potatoes, gravy, cranberry sauce, squash and butter rolls myself. Whew. And it was a hit! I was so pleased!

Now to never do it again!

Or, at least, to do it again once I forget about all the work involved..

Day 279 – Success!

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on December 14, 2012, in Project 365 - 2012 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

