The Devil [Tarot] Awaits

Creating my own tarot cards has been a really great way to learn more about the cards themselves. And at first glance, The Devil tarot looks like a dark, evil looking tarot that you probably never want to draw from a deck! Though learning a little more about the tarot has helped make this card feel not so negative.

I did want my own tarot to have that same eerie sense of darkness and foreboding and I chose the brown hyena because, well, just look at that creature!  This crazy looking hyena looks like he was made for this card and I thought that he may very well capture the essence of this tarot. His wild fur grows out of control and his stripes feel like they’re confining what’s held within. The devil is there to tempt you and hold you back at the same time. But what is the devil, really, but a collection of your own fears that are holding you back.

 

Oh, wow. This is also my 300th blog post. I’m sure that’s probably small potatoes but that’s a pretty awesome milestone for me. I think it’s pretty fitting that this tarot took that spot because while I still struggle with writing and struggled a bit with this one, I will keep pushing through and trying. We can’t let that devil hold us back.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on March 1, 2013, in Artwork, Tarot and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ooh! This is one of my favorites of yours! Also, I love how you nailed this card in just one short phrase: “a collection of your own fears that are holding you back”

    By the way – My wyfe loves her ‘bat cat’ neck pendant. 🙂 You rock.

Leave a Reply

