Fight with the Five of Wands

1

It’s been a while since I worked on the Five of Wands. I remember it was one of the few that I worked on back in November when I was away to see my boyfriend. I had actually sketched out this tarot even way before that, but it ended up sitting around, waiting to be painted for the longest time. I don’t really remember why I didn’t work on it right away; maybe at the time I had doubts that I could make it awesome. Ironic, perhaps, since this tarot contains a lot of conflict in itself. But! I knew I had to face this challenge and this was the end result.

Sometimes so much is happening in a tarot image and I like paring it down a bit to fit with the feel that I wanted for this deck. And I do hope that all of the thought and planning that actually goes into these images shines through in the end. The Five of Wands is an example of one of these images. I ended up putting my outside forces actually outside of the image. They’re all closing in on my animal, which became the fiery wild boar. I chose the boar because I felt that this tarot needed an animal with that fight in it, ready to take charge with no hesitation. This is a tarot that I could definitely learn a thing or two from. 2

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on March 29, 2013, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

