Tarot Deck Size: The Debate

Whew, I’ve had to take a step back over the last little bit, especially after trying to work on a the write-up for the deck. That can be some very tiring stuff! But I have made some progress. I got to tell you though; it’s not a full companion book with thorough descriptions of the imagery and symbolism.  I think if I were to do that, it would take me another year or two to just get that done. Right  now it’s about 12 pages of small paragraphs, a couple sentences each.. almost like a very short story for each tarot. I have my fingers crossed that this write-up works out because this has been a huge challenge for me.

One decision that still needs to be made is how big the tarot deck will actually be. So I thought I should put together a quick comparison of different sizes with the Ace of Cups as my guinea pig. It’s a nice way to see how the image will look on the card, and how the different sizes can be compared. I realize the framing is not ideal on the normal tarot card, but hope that can be overlooked if it ends up being the final size. It’s all been one big learning experience.

size

Another thing to consider is if the border should be left white or be tinted another colour. What do you think?

You can also click on the image above for the full size. The image is sized for my monitor so the inches may not match other screens, but it’s still a great way to compare sizes. What deck size would you prefer?

 

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on April 19, 2013, in Artwork, Tarot and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I like the 5.5″ The images are so great that it would be nice to have them as big as possible. Can’t wait!

  2. The middle size looks about right as it’s the same size as my own tarot deck! 🙂

    • The middle is the standard tarot dimensions. I realized a touch late that my images may not fit perfectly with the size, but I’m still playing around with the layout and I would love to have the deck with the proper size. I’ll have to play around a bit more and see. Thanks so much for your input!

  3. I use a small deck so I can carry it wherever I go. Very convenient and with me all the time.

Leave a Reply

