The Peacock and the Seven of Pentacles… Now What?

1

Fibromyalgia and anxiety are not fun. I go through these phases where I want to create as much art as I can and I feel like I’m just super productive, but then I have these bouts when I struggle with where to go next and what to focus on and artwork just doesn’t want to come together. It’s definitely been one of those rough patches lately.

 

 

I feel like I’m close to accomplishing more. I can almost taste that finished tarot deck. But I think I was focusing on it too much. I was living and breathing this deck. I went through that high of getting a lot done. But what goes up, comes right back down, and now I’m down into that low where I suddenly feel like that finish line is so far away and I might never get there.

So maybe it’s appropriate that I have the Seven of Pentacles to write about now. I still struggle with writing and it definitely requires a good push at times to have thoughts and writing come together for me. I see the peacock as a symbol of all the successes achieved. It’s such a beautiful bird with a reason to be proud.

 

 

And I can kind of relate to the Seven of Pentacles because I feel like I’ve done a lot, but I’m also looking backwards and forwards with some uncertainty. I’ve worked hard enough to make it this far. But am I doing enough? Am I on the right track? How should I tackle the road ahead? I feel like this card brings up more questions than answers. I hope that that’s what’s needed right now.

I also want to be 100% happy with how this tarot deck turns out. I started playing around a bit more with different layout ideas for this deck, and wanted to see what I could come up with when it came to a borderless tarot deck. I didn’t want to completely lose the work I put into creating the painted borders and text though; I thought that it added to the charm of the artwork. So this is what I came up with, with a little bit of editing. This is a rough draft for sure, and while a little bit of the painting ultimately gets cropped, this might be a good option to have the artwork take up as much space as possible, while keeping the traditional tarot size. What do you think? Borderless or with borders?

Capture

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on April 25, 2013, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I LOVE the brown jagged, woodsy borders you have in your artwork. I would love to see them show up in the cards. Please hit me up if there is any way I can support you in getting this done. Are you considering a kickstarter or indiegogo campaign to publish the deck?

    • Thank you so, so much! Right now I’m leaning towards a print-on-demand service (it looks like it will be thegamecrafter.com) I thought about self-publishing and maybe starting a campaign for the funding but to be honest, I think self-publishing will be way too much work for me. This project has been a huge part of my life since I started but it has also been quite exhausting! lol. Not to say that in a negative way; I’ve really enjoyed creating it, but I’d rather be able to have a second party deal with the printing process, and I won’t need to have to invest large amounts of funds to make it happen.

      I think I am leaning towards the borderless right now. However if I can, I’d love to add a bordered deck later on as well because I really do love those borders too. We’ll see what happens 🙂

  2. I LOVE the borders you have drawn. Nothing in nature is a perfect straight line, yet when you go borderless that’s what happens, straight lines. Your borders feel organic and right for this deck, they are not huge or intrusive and they fit it so well.

    • Thank you so much! I definitely know what you mean. I have a soft spot for the uneven, organic borders myself. And as of now, I think I’ve settled on a final layout for the cards, and it *will* include the borders. Whew. It’s been a ton of trial and error!

  3. I love your deck…..when it is done it will be quickly snatched up by me!

  4. I love the border! I think it centers the card and brings out the beautiful strokes of the art and brightens it up 😀

  5. I love the brown rugged border. Really nice. Hey Fibromyalgia! I am kind of there myself right now but possible Lupus aswell. Will know in next two weeks. I understand the need to work, work, work when you feel well as very little can be done during the down time. I try to work like that too and it is very frustrating at times, especially when you are on a roll and then you have to stop. By the way, I really like your style of writing.

Leave a Reply

