Time to REALLY learn tarot

When I first became interested in tarot, I struggled a lot with how to get started. Trying to learn about 78 different cards with endless meanings was rough, and knowing that there were infinite ways of interpreting the images, well it seemed like that would be something I may never understand.

I remember one of my high school science classes. My teacher made it clear that he would not be handing out printed notes for us. Instead he would write everything out on the blackboard, and we’d have to write everything down on paper. Books and handouts can easily be ignored, but by hand writing notes, that information gets processed a little more as it moves from your eyes, into your brain, and down into your hands as you write it down.

I get reminded of that time because that’s how this tarot deck came to be. Because I struggled with learning tarot, I realized that it would be easier for me to find a connection with the images if I made them myself. And now? At this point in time, I only have 5 tarot cards left to create. I’ve been definitely feeling it; I know that the finish line is close. I feel like I’ve accomplished a lot with this deck now. But looking back to the very beginning, I realized something else – I really am still very much a novice when it comes to tarot.

The Final Five

The Final Five

I am inching closer and closer to making this tarot deck a reality, and I’ve been spending the last 2 years on the creation of this deck, trying to learn the different meanings and planning out how to design these images. But my desire to really read tarot, that was set aside while I toiled away on painting and writing.

So more recently, I started to try my hand at learning to read again. I’m at least more comfortable with the idea of tarot reading, though I still have so much more to learn. My journey to learn how to read will really develop more once I have my physical deck in my hands; I’ll be much more comfortable with my very own deck. But it doesn’t mean I can’t at least work with what I have, write notes and see what happens until then.

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on April 30, 2013, in Artwork, Tarot and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

