The Hierophant: Stoat Love

May is already coming to a close and I can’t believe it. I’m still accidentally writing “2012” and now I just spent my weekend on the beach, watching fireworks going off on Victoria Day. (Sup Canadians.) How did that happen so quickly?

I have so many cards to write about and share, and as of today I am working on my second last tarot already. I still remember that very first day I painted my very first card (The Hanged Man); I looked at it feeling so accomplished.. and then silently wept because I still had 78 more to paint. Sigh. But now? Now that finish line is just around the corner! And though there are still some other things to work on, I really hope to get a physical deck in my hands soon.

I have a huge soft spot for small animals and I knew there’d be an abundance of these little guys in this tarot. Choosing an animal for The Hierophant wasn’t particularly easy. This tarot’s imagery is traditionally more on the religious side and I didn’t want that slant in my version. I decided on the white stoat for The Hierophant because it often represented purity. Not tainted by negative influences, my Hierophant is a teacher, helping to connect others with the knowledge necessary to guide them on their journey. I’d like to think that he’s a bit humble and calm and helps keep a little peace and order within his society.

When I had tried formatting these images to create a borderless deck, this was the card that essentially went, “NOPE, not happening!” Too much of this painting was lost in the process and I couldn’t have that happen. I think the card loses a lot of its meaning when you cut off the two critters below, or the trees on the either side. So the idea of borderless was crossed off, and I hope that the final design of the cards will be okay in the end. I am digging the design plan so far, but I’ll share more of that later!

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on May 23, 2013, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

