Beware The Scorpion: The Tower Tarot

A few months ago, I did a tarot reading regarding someone that had an impact on my life, and the Tower tarot was the first card that appeared in the reading. It was definitely an eyebrow raising, perplexing kind of reading. It was a touch hopeful but still felt gloomy and sad overall.

Yesterday, now with the Animism Tarot in hand (oh gosh, my glee. I seriously do feel like a mother hen watching over her little chicks. Did this blog post just get a little weird? Oops.) I suddenly thought of this person again, and did a somewhat similar reading. I shuffled the cards and the first card I drew? The Tower. Again. That kind of knocked me back a little! I think the second reading left me with more questions rather than answers (I still have so, so much to learn) but I think this situation in general won’t bring about much clarity. Still, it was a little unsettling to see the same tarot again, giving me the feeling that things haven’t changed much since the first reading.

Fortunately the Tower wasn’t a very difficult tarot to design. I definitely wanted an image that was dark and gloomy, keeping the same vibe as the classic card as well as the awesome lightning imagery. I used a tree as a tower – but of course, the true tower here is the scorpion itself. The choice of using a scorpion was fitting to me. Different from the usual furry or swimming creatures, I wanted this scorpion to raise all the red flags when it gets drawn. I want it to essentially shout out, be careful, and tread carefully, because this will not be a pleasant encounter!

Painting this tarot was fun – mostly. Painting a scorpion itself isn’t the most fun thing to do! But I had dark red and purple in the sky, mixed with this black, black scorpion speckled with blue. Ā A dark scorpion seemed much more fitting than a light coloured one. It might be a little bit harder to see, but you’ll know if you’ve pissed it off!

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on July 5, 2013, in Artwork, Tarot and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. charlessnarls

    I drew a Tower in the last reading I administered to myself. My understanding–and I’m a total newb,btw–is the destruction the tower represents leads to a new beginning. I drew it in a near future position, but considering I just quit my job, moved across the country, and came out of a long-term relationship, I think it’s appropriate the Tower made an appearance.

    I dig the scorpion design. Whether the end result of the Tower is to be seen as positive or negative, I’m glad you kept the ominous tone for your design. To me personally, the most important visual theme for a Tower is that sense of insignificance before something truly monumental–a grand design or immense structure that fills the tarot aficionado with dread and awe. You DEFINITELY achieved that with the scorpion design. Props.

    • Thank you so much; and thanks so much for your insight! And for noting that the tower isn’t necessarily a bad thing.. a negative looking card isn’t necessarily a bad sign, and sometimes the tower is necessary in order to move on to better things. That’s definitely a good thing to remember. (And actually helps me a little with my last reading; thank you.)

Leave a Reply

