Liger: The Powerful Temperance

Temperance was another tarot that I was really intrigued with. I’ve seen it referred to as the alchemy card: Temperance takes different elements and skilfully blends and mixes the two to create this new perfect creation, creating balance. I created a long list of possible animals for this card, but then when I saw the liger one day, I instantly knew that it should be my Temperance tarot.

Now to be honest, the liger is probably far from a perfect creature. I’ve seen claims that ligers are prone to birth defects and many cubs don’t survive. Though I’ve also seen other sites trying to debunk this; so I can’t really say anything with full certainty. However I just wanted to portray their beauty and strength in this painting. I really enjoyed painting this liger with all its unique features and markings.

Waterfalls are becoming a common theme in these tarots. I wanted the liger to be in control of the water. I actually painted the waterfall with the painting upside down.. splitting the one into two. Perhaps the two streams meet again at the top. No one knows but Temperance.

 

About Jo @ Rainbow of Crazy

My username came from that very random day several years ago when I was told that I was a "walking rainbow of crazy... twinkling with the spectrum of a thousand different colours." That name makes me smile to this day and will always remain with me! http://www.rainbowofcrazy.com https://rainbowofcrazy.wordpress.com

Posted on August 30, 2012, in Artwork and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment